Mar 1, 2010

President Swears In Ministers

The  immediate past Majority Leader in Parliament, Mr Alban Bagbin, and five others were yesterday sworn in to take ministerial appointments.

The others were Mr E.T. Mensah, the Minister of Employment and Social Welfare; Mr Martin Amidu, the Interior; Mr John Tia Akologu, Information; Mr Innusah Fuseini, Deputy Minister of Energy, and Mr Moses Mabengba for the Northern Region.

Mr Alban Bagbin is for the Ministry of Water Resources, Works and Housing. Swearing the ministers into office at the Castle, Osu, President John Evans Atta Mills declared this year as a year of action in which the government’s development targets would be aggressively pursued.

He said the better part of last year was used to solve the economic challenges that confronted the nation over the last few years.

President Mills, who gave the assurance, said, “But for our courage and determination, considering the enormity of the challenges we would have thrown our hands in the air.”

The President mentioned some of the achievements recorded by his administration as bringing down of inflation and the stabilisation of the cedi among other economic measures aimed at improving the lives of the people.

He said as ambassadors they should use their expertise and experience to drive the ‘Better Ghana Agenda’ along.

“We want to support one another for the best interest of our people and the country. We are in power to raise the levels of our people,” he stressed.

He reminded the ministers of “the day of judgment”, saying that on that day, we would all be judged together.
“Let us co-operate and collaborate with one another. With this we will bring smiles to the faces of our people,” he said.

Mr Alban Bagbin on behalf of the others thanked the President for the honor and assured him of their commitment to work hard to improve the lives of the people.

“Mr President I will like to assure you that we will not disappoint you,” he stressed.

Source: Daily Graphic