News Archives

Oct 12, 2011

42 New Districts in the Offing

Mr. Samuel Ofosu Ampofo, the Minister of Local Government and Rural Development, has announced that government will create 42 new Districts across the country, with the aim of ensuring the effective management of the affected areas.

He adds that the new districts, which have been approved by Cabinet, are carved out of existing ones, which are found to be too large for effective administration and management.

 Mr. Ampofo announced this at Dodowa, during a durbar of chiefs of the Greater Accra Region to welcome President John Evans Atta Mills on his tour of the region, pointing out that the creation of the new districts is a culmination of consultations with various stakeholders.

 According to him, government has allocated GH¢40 million for the new districts whilst five new districts have been created

 The new districts in the region are Ningo Prampram, carved from the Dangme West district; Sege District carved out of Dangme East; Kpone Katamanso District, out of Tema Metropolitan Assembly; Madina Municipal out of Ga East Municipal and Nii Okaiman District, carved out of Ga South Municipal.

 Mr. Ofosu-Ampofo explained that details for the new districts in the other regions will be announced soon.

Source: ISD